2014 ACCT Leadership Congress

Join over 1,500 community college trustees, presidents, students and other leaders and advocates in the Windy City this October 22-25! View promotional video or register.

Larry Ebbers Receives Award

Larry Ebbers, Iowa State University Professor, was recognized with the 2014 Leadership Award from the American Association of Community Colleges (AACC). AACC's Leadership Award, an annual tradition since 1982, is presented to individuals whose accomplishments and professional contributions to the community college field have been outstanding.

At ISU Ebbers teaches courses in College Organization and Administration, Curriculum Development in Colleges, College Teaching, Comprehensive Community College, and Student Development Theory. In 1989, he initiated the Leadership Institute for a New Century (LINC program. The LINC program is designed for women and minorities preparing for community college leadership positions. In 1995 he initiated the Community College Leadership Initiative Consortium (CLIC) focused on providing leadership development for mid-and upper-level administrators in community colleges.

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society Students Support Community College Completion Corps Initiative (C4)

Phi Theta Kappa Executive Director and CEO, Dr. Rod Risley, joined nearly 250 Iowa Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society students, Community College Leaders and Policymakers who gathered to demonstrate and garner support for the Community College Completion Corps initiative known as “C4” at the State Capitol on Wednesday, March 5. In his remarks, Risley addressed the history and success of C4 in assisting students to complete their college credentials. To date 3,000 Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society students, community college leaders and policymakers have signed the C4 completion pledge.

"In just the past year, all 15 of Iowa's community colleges, their Phi Theta Kappa chapters, faculty, staff and even non-Phi Theta Kappa students have pledged to support C4," said Mick Starcevich, Kirkwood Community College President and chair of the Iowa Association of Community College Presidents. "This personal commitment from these helping hands can make all the difference to students given the daily challenges some face. We encourage them to stick with this program, and we promise to never give up."

“Earning a community college certificate or degree is a life-changing event for a student, making a difference in his or her lifetime earnings and quality of life," said Jerry Smith, Southwestern Community College Trustee and board chair of the Iowa Association of Community College Trustees. "Having worked in job training and placement throughout my entire career, I know the value of education when obtaining employment.

See also:


Education Liquidity Fund (TELF) Integrated Cash Management Solutions Offers Warm Cookies at the 2014 IACCT Conference

TELF is honored to participate with other industry experts in discussions on the vital impact of Community Colleges on Iowa’s educational and professional landscape at the IACCT’s annual conference. TELF is attending and sponsoring the 2014 IACCT Conference, and we welcome the opportunity to discuss our program offerings and convenience to the Conference attendees while providing warm cookies.

TELF is an IACCT sponsored investment program for Iowa’s Community Colleges. TELF’s investment program has offered cash management and investment solutions for Iowa’s educational institutions for many years. Ryan Berry, Public Fund Sales Associate, will be on hand to discuss investment options and answer questions.

IACCT Hosts Student Legislative Seminar

Students from all 15 community colleges of Iowa attended the Student Legislative Seminar on January 29-30 at the Des Moines Holiday Inn, Mercy Campus. View more event photos.

Updated IPERS Comparison Guide

Iowa’s Community College staff have the unique opportunity to choose TIAA CREF or IPERS for their retirement plan. The latest version of the booklet Which Retirement Plan Is Right For YOU? describes both plans and addresses frequently expressed concerns of Community College employees. We thank TIAA CREF and IPERS for their ongoing participation in the project.

2013 Iowa College Student Survey Now Available

See the recent report from Iowa Workforce Development.

ACCT Board Member Elected as Member-At-Large

Connie Hornbeck, Iowa Western Community College Trustee, has been recently elected to the ACCT Board of Directors. See more information here and here and here.

I-AM Grant Projects

Each month the ABI Business Record is featuring a story about an Iowa Community College. One outreach initiative of I-AM, Elevate Advanced Manufacturing, is a statewide, integrated outreach campaign to promote careers and educational pathways in advanced manufacturing.

Jean Torgeson Passes Gavel and Becomes ACCT Past Board Chair

Jean Torgeson of North Iowa Area Community College (NIACC) passed the gavel and became the ACCT Past Board Chair at the 44th ACCT Annual Leadership Congress in Seattle, WA. Read More

Read more about Jean's career in the Winter 2013 edition of ACCT's Trustee Quarterly.